Sometimes I jump the gun.. and sometimes I misinterpret rules… But better to push forward as fast as possible – and ask for forgiveness after the fact then to not push at all. Sorry.

by

Looks like my great idea of re-enabling the “Save as Excel” feature was a bad idea – as I just got additional clarification from Twitter that the only way I can export data is 1) if it is the actual user’s and if not 2) only the IDs.

Therefore, the “Save as Excel” will be removed tomorrow morning around 5:00 am ET.  Sorry I got everyone excited…

I have toyed with the idea of just exporting IDs and giving you guys scripts to do the lookups – but the rate limits will kill anyone trying to do that to grab all the actual tweet text.

Don’t really know what else to do at this point…!

5 Responses to “Sometimes I jump the gun.. and sometimes I misinterpret rules… But better to push forward as fast as possible – and ask for forgiveness after the fact then to not push at all. Sorry.”

  1. Andy Says:

    Hi John,

    I actually desperate for the data to do my PhD research, so it will be good if I can just get the status ID and I will do my own batch download. Can you please contact me via my email and we can explore the options together please?

    Regards,
    Andy.

  2. John O'Brien Says:

    Andy – I have finalized any code to do the extracts in this fashion (especially the larger extracts).

    Contact us at support@twapperkeeper.com and let me know which ones you are looking for and I will try to see if I can pull something together.

    John

  3. verkostoanatomia Says:

    Hi John,

    even the ID’s would be great. I do mostly research on social network analysis and often I’m interested only in the ID’s (RT’s, mentions etc.).

    Olli

  4. Orian Marx Says:

    I’m curious as to the definition of “1) if it is the actual user’s”. Does this mean tweets they authored? Tweets they favorited? Tweets mentioning them?

  5. John O'Brien Says:

    Orian,
    My understanding is it refers to tweets they have “authored.”

    John

Comments are closed.


